Chateauneuf du Pape - Wines - Domaine Les Cailloux - André Brunel

The Estate

A little bit of history

1382609138.bandeau.contenu4.jpg

 

Wine-growing Development in the Rhône Valley

The first vines date back to the settlement of Greek explorers along the Mediterranean around 600 B.C.

Starting from this period and up until the relative peace during the Pax Romana, the Rhône had become an ideal, and the only fully-operational, trade route for many centuries.

The Roman period witnessed the growth of local farming to meet the needs of European armies and numerous settlers who can to live in Gaul … and the Gaul population themselves were great consumers of their national production.

Our ancestors were therefore rapidly reputed to mastering vineyards (planting, grafting, pruning …) and also to contributing to various technical innovations such, an example among many others, replacing the amphora by the wood barrel.

After the Fall of the Roman Empire, the church ensured the maintenance, and even the development of a quality production. Benedictines, Charthusians, Templars, Knights of Malta … well implanted in the valley, each Order successively made wine-making their living.

The arrival of Popes in Avignon in 1309 guaranteed the recognition all over the Christian world of Châteauneuf-du-Pape wines. Residents for over a century, they saw to the vineyard’s extension and reputation in the world over. 

 

Anecdote

The popes, suffering from the summer heat within the Avignon fortified walls, decided to go live where the climate was less stifling.
This is how Châteauneuf, swept away by the Mistral during countless days each year, became the summer residence of the popes, therefore taking on the name Châteauneuf-du-Pape.
In fact the town is presently twinned with Castel Gondolfo in Italy which is the summer residence of popes today.

 

In 1860, the phylloxera epidemic brought a sudden halt to the vineyard area’s extension and only got back its initial size after 50 years of hard work.

New planting and grafting techniques, the patient search for qualitative improvements for implementing the first production rules, the grouping around a common identity …  all led, in 1935,  to the creation of the INAO (National Institute for Appellations of Origin).

 Anecdote

In 1919, a former fighter pilot during the First World War, Baron Pierre Le Roy de Boiseaumarié married the heiress of Château Fortia in Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Being a distinguished jurist, he helped the wine-growers restructure and organize the local wine-making endeavour.
Founder of the Châteauneuf-du-Pape Wine-making Union in 1924, he obtained a ruling 1933 which would define the specificities of the Châteauneuf-du-Pape appellation which were later used to initiate the AOC system (Appellation of Controlled Origin).
He was totally uncompromising in regards to the Châteauneuf-du-Pape wine quality and was convinced that a great wine could only be issued from marginal soils where lavender and thyme thrived!

Chateauneuf du Pape - Vins - Domaine Les Cailloux - André Brunel

Le domaine

Un peu d'histoire

Vue de Chateauneuf du Pape

Essor de la viticulture en Vallée du Rhône

 

Les premières cultures de vignes datent de la colonisation du littoral méditerranéen par les explorateurs grecs vers 600 av. J.C.

A partir de cette époque et jusqu’à la sécurité apportée par la pax romana, le Rhône a constitué la voie commerciale idéale, la seule constamment opérationnelle pendant des siècles.

La période romaine a vu l’essor de la culture locale afin de subvenir aux besoins des légions de l’Empire, des nombreux colons venus s’installer en Gaule… et des Gaulois eux-mêmes grands consommateurs de leur production nationale.

Nos ancêtres ont ainsi acquis rapidement une grande réputation dans la maîtrise de la vigne (plantation, greffage, taille…) mais ont aussi su apporter leur lot d’innovations techniques, le remplacement de l’amphore par le tonneau en bois n’étant pas la moindre.

Après la chute de l’Empire, c’est l’Eglise qui va contribuer à assurer le maintien sinon l’essor d’une production de qualité. Bénédictins, Chartreux, Templiers, Hospitaliers… bien implantés dans la vallée, reprennent à leur compte la culture de la vigne.

L’arrivée des Papes en Avignon en 1309 va assurer la reconnaissance dans le monde chrétien des vins issus de Châteauneuf du Pape. Résidents pendant plus d’un siècle, ils vont œuvrer à l’agrandissement du vignoble et à sa renommée dans le monde entier.

 

 Anecdote

Les papes souffrant de la chaleur estivale au sein des remparts d’Avignon décidèrent de s’installer en un endroit où le climat était plus frais.
C’est ainsi que Châteauneuf, balayé par le mistral de nombreux jours dans l’année, est devenu résidence d’été des papes, prenant ainsi le nom de Châteauneuf du Pape.
La ville est d’ailleurs de nos jours jumelée avec Castel Gondolfo en Italie, résidence d’été des papes actuels.

 

En 1860, l’épidémie de phylloxera est un coup d’arrêt brutal à l’expansion du vignoble, celui-ci ne retrouvant son niveau antérieur qu’après 50 ans de dur labeur.

De nouvelles techniques d’implantation et de greffe, la recherche patiente d’améliorations qualitatives par la mise en place des premières règles de production, le regroupement autour d’une identité commune… conduisent à la création en 1935 de l’INAO (Institut National des Appellations d’Origine).

 

Anecdote

Ancien pilote de chasse de la Première Guerre Mondiale, le Baron Pierre Le Roy de Boiseaumarié se marie en 1919 avec l’héritière du Château Fortia à Châteauneuf du Pape. Eminent juriste, il va aider les vignerons du cru à refonder le paysage viticole local.
Fondateur du syndicat des vignerons de Châteauneuf du Pape en 1924, il obtient en 1933 un jugement qui définit les caractéristiques de l’appellation Chateauneuf du Pape dont on s’inspirera quelques années plus tard pour fonder le système des AOC (Appellations d’Origine Contrôlée).
Intransigeant en ce qui concernait la qualité du vin de Châteauneuf du Pape, seuls les sols sur lesquels poussaient la lavande et le thym (donc les sols les plus pauvres) pouvaient donner naissance selon lui à un grand vin !