Chateauneuf du Pape - Wines - Domaine Les Cailloux - André Brunel

Press news & guides

The French Wine Review (RVF) 2014: **

Revue des Vins de France 2012

Although not very well known in France, André Brunel can nevertheless boast belonging to the elite few within the Châteauneuf-du-Pape appellation.
He makes high quality wines where minerality and refinement are considerable virtues. This whole wine range is incredibly consistent.
The Châteauneuf-du-Pape is a calm fortitude, with finesse and overtones. During successful production years the Domaine makes a small quantity of a wonderful cuvée, issued from vines planted in 1889 on the Farguerol plain, baptised Cuvée Centenaire and which appeared for the first time in 1989. It quickly gained a well-deserved worldwide success.
But André Brunel still owns a few rare and magnificent old bottles from 1947 and 1967, or more recently, from 1978, revealing an undeniable know-how which is still found in the wine quality today. 

Côtes du Rhône (white) Bécassonne 2012: freshness due to vegetal hints. A fine and delicate wine with a distinctive taste of flint.

Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc Les Cailloux 2012: releases an incredible energy in the mouth, a wine guided by fresh ripeness and a fragrant scent of garrigue and grass. Nonetheless, it must recover from its “bottling”, although its ageing potential is more than obvious.

Côtes du Rhône Sommelongue 2011: fresh fragrance of pure fruit.

Châteauneuf-du-Pape Les Cailloux Rouge 2011: graceful with a light roundness and finely smooth tannins, the wine rolls out a spicy fragrance pre-empting a highly subtle taste. A remarkably pure wine with a drawn-out fruit touch in the mouth. Finely and incredibly intense.

RSS feed

Chateauneuf du Pape - Vins - Domaine Les Cailloux - André Brunel

Presse & guides

Le Guide de la Revue du Vin de France 2014

Revue des Vins de France 2012

Peu connu en France, André Brunel fait pourtant partie de l’élite de l’appellation Chateauneuf du Pape.
Il produit des vins racés, dans un style où la minéralité et le raffinement sont des atouts majeurs. Toute la gamme est d’une grande régularité.
Le Chateauneuf du Pape est une force tranquille, tout en finesse et en nuances. Les grandes années, le domaine produit en petite quantité une magnifique cuvée issue de vignes plantées en 1889 sur le plateau de Farguerol, baptisée Cuvée Centenaire et qui a vu le jour en 1989. Rapidement, elle a connu un succès mondial largement mérité.
Mais André Brunel possède encore quelques rares et magnifiques flacons anciens, des 1947 et 1967 ou, plus près de nous, des 1978, qui montrent un indéniable savoir-faire, que l’on retrouve dans la qualité des vins actuels.


Côtes du Rhône Blanc Bécassonne 2012 : développe de la fraîcheur sur une note végétale. Un blanc fin et élancé très typé sur la pierre à fusil.

Chateauneuf du Pape Blanc Les Cailloux 2012 : libère une magnifique énergie en bouche, un vin guidé par une maturité fraîche et un parfum de garrigue et d’herbes. Il doit cependant se remettre de sa mise en bouteilles ? mais son potentiel de garde s’avère évident.

Côtes du Rhône Sommelongue 2011 : frais dans ses parfums, affichz un fruit pur.

Chateauneuf du Pape Les Cailloux Rouge 2011 : gracieux, avec sa chair peu épaisse et ses tanins fins et lisses, déploie un parfum d’épices devançant une bouche d’une grande finesse. Un vin d’une remarquable pureté, dont le fruit s’étire en bouche. Fin et superbement intense.

Fil RSS