Chateauneuf du Pape - Wines - Domaine Les Cailloux - André Brunel

Our Blog

The stake

The stake

The stake

Planting the stakes consists of … planting the stakes.

This is a necessary job to mark-off the rows (for example to show the tractor driver where to plough) and help the vine grow in the right direction by providing a sort of “guide”. In our region, we always plant stakes facing north to protect young plants from the Mistral wind.

This is both a tedious and tiresome job. We count about 2500 stakes for 1 hectare of land and there are few tools which exist apart from the mallet. An experienced (and determined) person can plant about 500 stakes in a day. And this if the soil so allows – if the ground is hard due to lack of rain, the same person can only plant 250.

I haven’t reached that level yet as after about a hundred stakes, my hands – more used to creating beautiful PowerPoint presentations – were covered in blisters. As I was blowing on them, I watched Bruno with admiration – he was planting his stakes with one hand and whistling … I really have a long way to go.

Chateauneuf du Pape - Vins - Domaine Les Cailloux - André Brunel

Blog

Le piquet

Le piquet

Piquet dans les vignes

Le plantage de piquets consiste … à planter des piquets.

Ce travail est nécessaire afin de délimiter les rangées (pour que le tractoriste sache comment labourer par exemple) et aider la vigne à grandir dans la bonne direction en lui fournissant un "guide". Dans notre région, nous plantons toujours le piquet face au Nord afin de protéger le jeune plant du Mistral.

Ce travail est fastidieux et pénible. Il faut compter environ 2500 piquets pour 1 hectare et peu d'outils existent à part... le maillet. Une personne expérimentée (et volontaire) peut planter jusqu'à 500 piquets dans une journée. Et cela si le sol lui permet : en cas d'absence de pluie prolongée durcissant le sol, le rendement peut tomber à 250.

Je n'en suis pas arrivé là puisque après une centaine de piquets, mes mains, plus habituées pour l'instant à réaliser de belles présentations PowePoint, étaient couvertes d'ampoules. Pendant que je soufflais dessus, j'observais Bruno d'un œil admiratif qui plantait ses piquets d'une main tout en sifflotant... Il me reste encore des progrès à faire.