Chateauneuf du Pape - Wines - Domaine Les Cailloux - André Brunel

Our Blog

The horse – a marketing tool or a genuine interest for the Estate

The horse – a marketing tool or a genuine interest for the Estate

Work with a horse in the vineyard

For some years the horse has made a remarkable come-back on wine estates. Users are nevertheless either accused of being crazy or nostalgic or accused of using them for communication purposes. What is really all about ?

It’s true that on medium-sized estates (over 20 hectares) and on low value-added plots, a working horse would not be very profitable compared to the tractor. The cost factor varies from 1 to 20 if the estate calls upon a service provider and from 1 to 10 if the estate owns their own horse.

Using a horse can however be valuable in very specific conditions: vineyards on very steep slopes where driving a tractor would be impossible and requires using a hoist, wineries of several hectares with top wines where investing in a tractor doesn’t seem worthwhile and where the additional costs of having a horse can easily be incorporated into the price of the bottle. 

Without considering the price, a horse can also be better than a tractor due to its agronomic impact. On very fragile grounds where the tractor weight tends to compress the soil, therefore reducing its agronomic potential, the horse can do this work in a more delicate manner, keeping the soil “alive”. This has absolutely no price.

To conclude, communication doesn’t really seem to be the principal reason for wine-grower – the latter don’t see the horse as helping to save the planet but more as a means to preserve their soil and the stand-out from their colleagues at a time where technological progress has allowed for everyone to make good wine (or nearly everyone ...).

Your comment

* required field

Chateauneuf du Pape - Vins - Domaine Les Cailloux - André Brunel

Blog

Le cheval, outil marketing ou véritable intérêt pour le Domaine

Le cheval, outil marketing ou véritable intérêt pour le Domaine

Travail du cheval à la vigne

Depuis de nombreuses années, le cheval fait un retour remarqué au sein des Domaines viticoles. Les utilisateurs sont néanmoins soit taxés de fous ou de nostalgiques soit accusés de les utiliser à des fins de communication. Qu’en est-il vraiment ?

Il est évident que sur des Domaines de taille moyenne (plus de 20h) et sur des parcelles à faible valeur ajoutée, le travail au cheval ne sera jamais rentable comparé au tracteur. Le facteur coût varie de 1 à 20 si le Domaine fait appel à un prestataire et de 1 à 10 si le Domaine possède un cheval en propre.

L’utilisation du cheval peut néanmoins être valable dans des conditions très précises : vignes en coteaux très pentus où le travail au tracteur est impossible et qui nécessitent l’utilisation d’un treuil, exploitations de quelques hectares en crus classés où l’investissement d’un tracteur ne se justifie pas et où le surcoût dû au cheval peut facilement être incorporé au prix de la bouteille.

En dehors de la question du coût, le cheval peut également être supérieur au tracteur pour son impact agronomique. Sur des sols très fragiles où le poids du tracteur aura tendance à tasser le sol et donc à réduire son potentiel agronomique, le cheval permet d’effectuer un travail beaucoup plus en douceur et de garder le sol en « vie ». Ce qui n’a pas de prix.

Au final, la communication ne semble pas être la motivation principale des vignerons : ceux-ci ne voient pas dans le cheval une manière de sauver la planète mais plutôt un moyen de préserver leur sol et de se démarquer de leur collègue à l’heure où les progrès technologiques font que tout le monde fait du bon vin ou presque.

Pour plus d'actualité sur les vins du Rhône : www.vins-rhone.com


Pour plus d'informations sur ce sujet, vous pouvez consulter le numéro 220 de la revue viticole "Réussir Vigne"

Votre commentaire

* champ obligatoire