Chateauneuf du Pape - Wines - Domaine Les Cailloux - André Brunel

Our Blog

From the appellation to the Cru

From the appellation to the Cru

Baron Pierre Le Roy de Boiseaumarié

The appellation area went from 300 hectares in the 13th century to over 600 in 1800, before losing 400 during the great phylloxera epidemic at the end of the 19th century.

The Châteauneuf-du-Pape vineyard owners were able to resist better than others to this phylloxera crises due to the diversity of their grape varieties, but it led the wine-growers to get organized and they created the first French “Wine-growers Union” (1894), before becoming the “Wine-grower Owners of Châteauneuf-du-Pape Union” which limited the appellation area and established the first production rules: limited yield, manual harvest, obligatory sorting, authorized grape varieties. These rules were the beginning of the AOC.  

Baron Pierre Le Roy de Boiseaumarié was the first union president and would also be the first president of the National Institute for Controlled Appellation (INAO) founded in 1936. In the same year, Châteauneuf-du-Pape was established as an AOC.

Today the appellation area covers over 3000 hectares, most of which spread over the commune of Châteauneuf-du-Pape and then over four neighbouring communes: Bédarrides, Courthézon, Orange and Sorgues.

The Domaine Les Cailloux is located in the commune of Châteauneuf-du-Pape

Chateauneuf du Pape - Vins - Domaine Les Cailloux - André Brunel

Blog

De l'appellation au Cru

De l'appellation au Cru

Baron Pierre Le Roy de Boiseaumarié


L'appellation passe de 300 hectares au XIIIe siècle à plus de 600 en 1800, avant d'en perdre 400 lors de la grande épidémie de phylloxera à la  fin du 19ème siècle.

Cette crise du phylloxera, à laquelle les propriétaires de Châteauneuf-du-Pape résisteront mieux que les autres grâce à la diversité de leur encépagement, amènera les viticulteurs à s'organiser et à créer le premier « Syndicat viticole » (1894) français,  avant de devenir en 1923 le « Syndicat des propriétaires viticulteurs de Châteauneuf-du-Pape » qui délimitera l’aire de l'appellation et instaurera des premières règles de production : limitation du rendement, vendange manuelle, tri obligatoire, les cépages autorisés. Ces régles furent à l'origine des AOC.

Le baron Pierre Le Roy de Boiseaumarié premier président de ce syndicat, deviendra également le premier président de l'Institut national de l’appellation contrôlée (INAO) fondé en 1936. Cette même année, le Châteauneuf-du-Pape est classé Cru.

L'aire de l'appellation recouvre aujourd'hui plus de 3000 hectares, et s'étend sur la quasi-totalité de la commune de Châteauneuf-du-Pape et sur quatre communes voisines : Bédarrides, Courthézon, Orange et Sorgues.

Le domaine Les Cailloux est situé sur la commune de Châteauneuf-du-Pape.